The Seven Chakras

Chakra man

There seems to be a solid connection between the seven paths of the labyrinth and the seven chakras. There is also a correlation between the chakras and the seven colors of the rainbow.


Notice that you don't walk these paths in order from one to eight. The colors don't go Red, Orange, Yellow, Green, Blue, Indigo, Violet (ROY G BIV). 'Walk' the labyrinth above with your finger. You will notice that the order of the paths is 3-2-1-4 / 7-6-5-8. I put a slash between four and seven to show you that this is a pattern that repeats itself twice: 3-2-1-4 and then 7-6-5-8.

If you cannot see the labyrinth to the left, you will need to install Shockwave Flash.


Get Shockwave
Play | Stop Note that stopping the playback might take a second or so.

Let's think about this musically.

Start with C=1, D=2, E=3, F=4, G=5, A=6, B=7, C'=8 (C'=C above middle C.) You now have the music of the labyrinth! The notes of the 'song' go E, D, C, F / B, A, G, C'.

Labyrinth music


Let's review where we've got to so far, using what I call a 'Sevens Chart'.

No Chakra Note Colour
8   C'  
7 Crown B Violet
6 Third Eye/Brow A Indigo
5 Throat G Blue
4 Heart F Green
3 Solar E Yellow
2 Sacral D Orange
1 Root C Red

Next >>