Print
Hits: 3346

The Exact Days and Times of the Solstices and Equinoxes Until 2020

This data is taken from the U.S. Naval Observatory website. The time on the website is given as – Universal Time, which is the same as , Greenwich Mean Time (GMT), or the time in London. EST= Eastern Standard Time, the time on the East Coast of the United States (five hours earlier than GMT). These times are NOT corrected for Daylight Savings time. (Spring ahead, Fall back) You will have to correct for British Summer Time or Daylight Savings Time in the US. While most of think of these Quarter Days as being on the 21st of March, June, September, and December, this is not always the case.

You can see that clearly by looking at the dates below:

2016

Vernal Equinox March 19th March 20th 23.30 EST 04.30 GMT
Summer Solstice June 20th 17.34 EST 22.34 GMT
Autumnal Equinox September 22nd 09.21 EST 14.21 GMT
Winter Solstice December 21st 05.44 EST 10.44 GMT

2017

Vernal Equinox March 20th 05.28 EST 10.28 GMT
Summer Solstice June 20th June 21st 23.24 EST 04.24 GMT
Autumnal Equinox September 22nd 15.02 EST 20.02 GMT
Winter Solstice December 21st 11.28 EST 16.28 GMT

2018

Vernal Equinox March 20th 11.15 EST 16.15 GMT
Summer Solstice June 21st 05.07 EST 10.07 GMT
Autumnal Equinox September 22nd September 23rd 20.54 EST 01.54 GMT
Winter Solstice December 21st 17.22 EST 22.22 GMT

2019

Vernal Equinox March 20th 16.58 EST 21.58 GMT
Summer Solstice June 21st 10.54 EST 15.54 GMT
Autumnal Equinox September 23rd 02.50 EST 07.50 GMT
Winter Solstice December 21st December 22nd 23.19 EST 04.19 GMT

2020

Vernal Equinox March 19th March 20th 22.49 EST 03.49 GMT
Summer Solstice June 20th 16.43 EST 21.43 GMT
Autumnal Equinox September 22nd 13.30 EST 18.30 GMT
Winter Solstice December 21st 05.02 EST 10.02 GMT

Orthographic Projections >>